Friends 2018-06-20T12:35:46+00:00


Friends of the Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden

The members of our Friends board are our biggest promoters. As Garden ambassadors Friends contribute time, talent, experience and financial resources to help us flourish.

The Friends started as the Garden’s original 501(c)(3) nonprofit in 1969. They raised money and offered programming while the Garden was managed by the City of Des Moines (1979-2003) and Des Moines Water Works (2004-2012).

In 2011, the 501(c)(3) charter was transferred to the Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden and a governing board was formed as the nonprofit launched a capital campaign. Friends now exist as a leadership council that provides support to the Botanical Garden through outreach efforts such as member recruitment and program support.

Megan Will

Jill Stevenson
Vice Chairwoman

Ruth Hamilton

Adam Lackey
Immediate Past Chairman

Jacquie Brewer

Sean Carver

Jennifer Chittenden

Doug Goodwin

Amy Mills

Mary B. Oothout

Margaret Schultz

Dennis Zaabel

Applications to join Friends are available in the spring; please check back for more details.